Baste + Gather

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2015 Reader/Customer Survey

BloggingLauren DahlComment
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Hi there, friends! It's been about a year since I did a reader survey, so I'd be thrilled if you could take a few minutes to fill this one out. I use the information to better target my content and products here on the blog and in the shop. Speaking of the shop, you might notice it's currently...nonexistent! That's because I'm getting ready to launch some changes including bringing Pattern Workshop over to Baste + Gather and also offering 3- and 6-month payment plans. This should all go live within the next week or two, so stay tuned!

In the meantime, please do answer these few questions for me! xoxo

I also reached out to my friend Beth at Sew DIY because I feel like her site is both lovely and well-branded (and she is a professional graphic designer!). With a little bit of advice from her, I set to work creating a mood board that would drive the rest of the brand development (see post image above). These are all images collected from my Pinterest board, and you might recognize several of them from one of my favorite blogs, The Craft Sessions (shared with permission).

Let's talk about the new logo. Previously, I have designed all the logos/headers and watermarks, etc. for my blogs. I always feel like they look okay, but I'm never quite satisfied with my own work. I had a vague idea of what I wanted for this go-around, but I wasn't having success in creating it myself. (Hand lettering on a Wacom tablet is a lot harder than one might think!) So, I took the advice of Darren Rowse of Problogger (one of my FAVORITE blogging sites) and launched a 99designs.com (affiliate link) project.

99designs.com (affiliate link) is a crowd-sourcing site where you write a creative brief describing your project, set an award amount and wait for the entries to roll in. They do everything from logo to packaging design, and their designers are from all over the world. They guarantee that you'll get a design you like, or they refund your investment. I figured I had nothing to lose, so I started my contest and went to bed hoping the designers would wow me the next morning.

Well...(dum dum dum) I was honestly underwhelmed with the first few submissions. In fact, most of the submissions I received in the initial couple days of the project were lackluster. But then! Oh yes, THEN, the good stuff started pouring in. I think the best designers wait until the last minute to submit their ideas so no one else copies them. I also think they take a little more time to think about and refine their work.

After over 120 entries (!!) and several WAAAAY-off-the-mark (but highly entertaining) corporat-ey logos superimposed on images of company vehicles for my blog, I ended up with this:

And I loved it! The designer did a few revisions for me including refining some of the letters, playing around with the orientation of the letters on the smaller versions and modifying the plus sign in the middle. He was a pleasure to work with, and the 99designs.com (affiliate link) interface made the process very painless. When the contest was over, I released payment and received all my files (.ai, .eps, .psd and .png) and copyright info. In about one week, the entire logo-creation process was complete!

Finally, I created a more comprehensive mood board detailing colors, fonts and other graphic elements:

 

 

Now, I'm in the process of seeing how these elements actually work on my site and creating cohesive templates for creating post images, social media images and all other associated media. I'm sure some things will change (colors, fonts, etc.) as I play with them in an online environment (versus designing a static page in InDesign/Illustrator, etc.), but overall, you should notice a much more cohesive look and feel for my site.

I hope you like the new look! I'm really enjoying how easy it is to create new graphic content for the site now that I've established standards for everything. I've been alllllll about planning and systems lately, and I've been much more productive as a result! Plus, everything just looks better! I'm excited to see how it all comes together.

What do you think? Do you notice when blogs re-brand and/or create a more cohesive look? Does it make for a more pleasurable reader experience for you? Have you ever tried crowd-sourcing design work?

Haters Gonna Hate.

Blogging, Miscellany, Pattern WorkshopLauren Dahl47 Comments
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Thanks to Google Analytics and a sudden flurry of Pattern Workshop sales (yes, that happens even after negative publicity!), I recently realized that I've been the topic of some heated discussion in the sewing blogging community. Yes, GOMI, I'm talking to you. And yes, I know it's happened several times since I launched my course. My husband has physically removed the computer from my hands on multiple occasions in the past, but this time, I feel a response is warranted. Some people (personal friends and students in my course) have come to my defense, but I've never bothered with responding directly. Well, you got your wish. And here's my response.

My students have been called "suckers" for taking my course since I am not a classroom-trained patternmaker. Well, my student body includes Big-4 licensees, retired grandmothers who simply enjoy learning, stay-at-home moms burning the midnight oil to make extra money for their families, disabled pattern designers who can no longer draft on paper, young and resourceful entrepreneurs avoiding the rat race and retired veterans looking to create income streams. I have even had patternmaking professors take my course so they can share the knowledge with their students. There are no "suckers" in my course. Most of my students are smart and driven self starters with dreams of creating successful businesses - whether small or large.

Let's get one thing straight: I DO NOT TEACH PATTERNMAKING. At least, not in the traditional/academic sense. I have never claimed to be a professional patternmaker, and I don't intend to ever become one. My students are expected to either have a working knowledge of pattern drafting already or to be willing to learn on their own using suggested textbooks.

There's a reason why I sew with other people's patterns: I have more enjoyable/profitable/less time-consuming things to do than draft my own clothing patterns. Yes, I have patterns for sale, and yes, I might release more patterns in the future. But that's business. I create(d) patterns because 1) it helped my credibility when I initially released Pattern Workshop, 2) it's a fun diversion from other business activities and 3) it's an additional income stream which helps me provide for my family and support my fabric hoarding tendencies.

But as a side note - I do find it interesting that the same people who decry these amateur, not-professionally-trained designers also take every opportunity to bash Big 4 pattern companies. Are these companies not staffed by professionally trained designers with degrees and years of experience in patternmaking? Where exactly are all these expert patternmakers if not working for large and well-known pattern companies? Do they all work for ready-to-wear designers? Couture houses? Perhaps these brilliant designers know how to fit every curve of a woman's body, yet they don't sell patterns because they don't know how to create a marketable pattern. (But hey, I have got the course for them if they want to learn!)

Should a person not sew if they don't have a degree in garment construction? Do sewing bloggers have no business sharing their creations if they haven't sent designs down a runway? Is the self-taught sewist banned from teaching because she has no classroom training? It seems that the sewing blogging community fully supports a self-taught sewist/designer until she tries to (and succeeds at) monetizing her learned skills. The second a blogger starts making money doing something she's learned, this community develops a crab mentality toward her. I've seen it happen again and again.

But just like a pattern designer might take a course in small-business accounting (from someone who is inexperienced in patternmaking) or the history of costume making (from someone equally inexperienced in patternmaking), he/she takes my course to learn software. The beauty of my course (or so I've been told) is that I only teach the parts that are relevant to creating digital patterns. There's no need to spend years learning the myriad capabilities of Adobe programs when I can teach it in 29 lessons. And when I say "lessons," we're not talking about 2-minute videos. The course contains hours and hours of video instruction and worksheets that shave weeks and even months off each designer's lead time. "Lessons" is a subjective term that shouldn't be debated without a peek into my course material.

What I DO teach is Adobe Illustrator and InDesign for the purpose of creating sewing patterns. Yes, I am self-taught. No, I do not have a degree in patternmaking or graphic design. A comment was made recently that I must, "at most, have two years of experience using Illustrator." Well, no, not exactly. I have been using Illustrator since 2004...so, 11 years. As for InDesign, I started using Quark XPress (a similar and now defunct software) in high school and learned InDesign in 2004 or 2005. So again, 10+ years. I also teach fabric design for BurdaStyle, and no, I am not a fabric designer. I joke that I'm a "technician, not an artist." My goal is (and has always been) to give artists/designers the skills they need to get their ideas out of their heads and into the hands of those who can enjoy their creations (myself included).

There is a survey at the end of my course, and students are able to rate several aspects of it on a scale of 1-5. I have never gotten lower than a 3 on any measure, and those are VERY rare. Even the few 3 ratings I have received have been accompanied with glowing, thoughtfully written reviews about everything else in the course except for maybe one or two areas the student thought I could improve. It is usually the InDesign lessons which receive lower scores, and that is because I don't go into as much detail on it as I do on Illustrator.

As for refunds, I have given two since launching the course. One was for a woman who enrolled twice and forgot that she'd already purchased the course. The other was for a designer who emailed me around the time I had my son asking if the course was for her. She was hoping to draft patterns for manufacture, but I didn't respond in time to tell her that it probably wouldn't help her since most factories require a certain type of file that Illustrator doesn't provide. She kindly asked for a refund since I was slow in responding, and I was happy to provide it as she was starting up a business on a limited budget.

These same antagonists have accused me of single-handedly "ruining the PDF pattern business" with my course by flooding the market with poor-quality patterns. I wholeheartedly disagree. Those who are truly driven to create and sell PDF patterns will figure it out one way or the other. I have one student who previously digitized her patterns in PowerPoint. POWERPOINT, people. (THAT is determination.) And I have several others who traced their patterns with Sharpie markers and scanned them into PDFs. What I have done is given people who would be putting patterns out ANYWAY the tools to make them better.

In addition, anyone who understands the free market economy knows that the leaders in any industry will naturally rise to the top, and the companies who sell subpar products and provide bad customer service will fail. The same is true in the PDF sewing pattern business. If anything, I am dramatically increasing the selection of PDF patterns available to sewists by giving would-be designers the tools they need to stop dreaming and start selling. Word of mouth will prevent unskilled patternmakers from going far in our community.

So, I guess my bottom line for all the haters out there is this: I'm just gonna shake, shake, shake, shake, shake...shake it off, shake it off. And I'll do so while sewing a crappy pattern from one of my crappy students who took my crappy class. And we will all be over here looking fab in our handmade clothes made from fabric we purchased with our millions of dollars in profit we swindled from our sucker students and customers.

Because you know, we totally make millions.

You're welcome.

Blog Sabbatical ... Yep, you heard right

Blogging, MiscellanyLauren Dahl16 Comments
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I've been thinking about this post for a few weeks now, mulling over in my head what I would type and how I would explain my feelings about blogging right now. I thought about just silently slipping into sabbatical without even a mention, but no, part of the reason I NEED this sabbatical is to clarify TO MYSELF how I feel about blogging. About everything I'm doing, really. So, here goes.

This year has been kind of nuts. I created a list of three goals in January that consisted of the following:

  1. Launch Pattern Workshop.
  2. Launch Selvage Designs.
  3. Reach 1,000 blog followers on Bloglovin'.

Well, check, check and almost check. I've done almost everything I set out to do this year, and fall is only starting to show her beautiful colors. And since I've gone from close to zero blog followers in January to over 900, I anticipate I'll probably check #3 off my list, too.

And in addition to the three goals above, I signed contracts with BurdaStyle and Janome.

(YES, I KNOW, I AM PINCHING MYSELF RIGHT NOW.)

But lately, I've been questioning all of it. Not whether I should quit everything - NO, NOT THAT - but which things should take priority (and which ones should go way, way, back to the back burner). I've been stuck in that dreaded gray area where it feels like everything is moving so fast and simultaneously NOT MOVING - all at the same time.

So let's talk about blogging. First, let me tell you: I do not make money at blogging. It took me 7 months to even reach the $100 threshold to get paid by Google Adsense. Okay, so I guess that's a little money. But it's barely enough to cover my hosting. Sure, I could grow my readership by posting free tutorials and patterns. Or I could work for product - sewing my little heart out for a couple yards of fabric here and there. And maybe, just MAYBE, I would make a little more money off ads on my blog. But it could take years. And frankly, my heart's just not in it.

That's why I recently started asking myself, "WHY AM I STILL KILLING MYSELF OVER THIS DAMN BLOG?!" It used to be fun, you know? Sewing, taking pictures...blogging when I felt like it. I wrote about my kids, my family, my sewing projects. There was never a motive or an analytic I was trying to improve. I never thought to myself, "Hmmm...should I post this as a free tutorial on my site or do a guest post on a bigger site? What time of day will I get the most traffic? On which social media should I share this post? Will applying a matte filter to my photos generate more shares?"

Now, I have a freaking checklist of everything I have to do after I write a post. Share on Facebook. Share on Instagram. Post on PatternReview. Post on Kollabora. Post on Indiesew. Ask blogger friends to share. Pin on Pinterest.

Not.

Fun.

And let's talk about sewing for fun versus sewing for the blog. When I'm sewing for fun, I just sew. I don't worry about the lighting or time of day or whether or not I took a good photo of that one step. I don't think about how fabulous my stitches need to look or whether or not I should post it on Monday or Thursday.

I JUST SEW. And I make things my kids and I will love - not the few thousand random people who follow me on various social media. And when I'm not spending hours (yes hours - driving to photo shoot location, taking photos, editing photos, writing post, publicizing post, re-posting, etc.) on blog posts, I actually have time...TO SEW. And to do random art projects with my kids. And to, you know, watch Orange is the New Black.

And it's not that I don't appreciate my readers/followers; in fact, I've made so many amazing friends through this blog - many of which I have gone on to meet in person, forge business partnerships with, etc. The problem is that I just focus on it way too much...and for so little return.

The fact is...I want to make money. I make no apologies for that. Because you know what? Money buys fabric. And patterns. And mortgage payments. And college educations. MONEY BUYS ALL THE THINGS.

BUT, money does NOT buy happiness. And happiness is another thing I want.

So how do I make money? And what makes me happy?

I will tell you: not blogging. (On either account.)

For now, I am shifting my focus into money-making activities (teaching, pattern design, etc.) for a while so I can spend the rest of my time JUST BEING HAPPY with my family and my sewing machine. There is only so much time in the day, and I must use it carefully.

Does this mean I am done blogging? No; it simply means I am taking a break. The nature of my work is that I have to put in a lot of effort up-front for a lot of payout in the long-term. Developing online courses and patterns means residual, semi-passive income, and that is my goal: to be able to be mommy while also contributing to my family financially.

Again, this does NOT mean I'm quitting blogging. Hopefully, this sabbatical will help me to clarify my goals and come back even more solid than before. I just need the time to sort it all out and focus some profit-making activities. Because, folks, quilted jersey does not come cheap. And this mamma likes quilted jersey.

Just sayin'.

Okay. So. I am traveling with the kids from September 10-22, then another trip early October and ANOTHER trip (to Quilt Market!) at the end of October. And I have a couple "secret" projects I am working on in the meantime, along with another (different) course launching on BurdaStyle at the end of October (details forthcoming). I anticipate my sabbatical will be about a month, maybe two...with occasional posts here and there. Then, I hope to get back to it in November (or the first of the year at the latest!).

(People ask me all the time how I do it all, and the truth is, I don't. Thus the picking and choosing.)

I will still be around, but I won't be killing myself with make-believe deadlines and invisible ladders to nowhere. I post on instagram all--the--time, so if you want to keep up on the day-to-day and get a few previews of the projects I'm working on, you can follow me there.

xoxo see you guys on the flip side.

Rage Against Sponsored Posts / AKA Highway Robbery

Blogging, MiscellanyLauren Dahl15 Comments
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Before folks get their panties all wadded up, I want to give a little disclaimer. This post is NOT directed at anyone specifically. I see sponsored posts like the ones I'm talking about below all. the. time. in the sewing blogging world. So if you/your friend happened to post one today or yesterday or last week, don't take it personally. If anything, I'm saying you should be making MORE for your hard work! And no, I don't judge anyone for making money off their blogs. After all, I make money off of mine, too. I'm simply saying that advertisers should be paying for all our hard work. That is all. :) This post WAS partially inspired by this post on Decor8.

I want to talk about something today that really irks me: underpaid (and often unrelated) sponsored posts.

But first, I want to take you back to 2007. In 2007, I was working as an account executive at a regional advertising agency making roughly $65K a year. I had great health insurance, a 401K, lots of paid lunches and other perks...you know, the works. I had a master's degree in advertising management, and I was great at what I did. Of course, I worked with a team of talented people - graphic designers, developers, media planners, creative directors, research specialists and assistants who all worked to put together ad campaigns for our clients. My coworkers made anywhere from about $30K/year (as an assistant) to $150K+ (upper-level account supervisors and such).

And our clients? They were mostly medium-sized businesses that were well-known in the western U.S. - regional banks, multi-level marketing companies, medical device manufacturers, restaurant chains, etc. These were companies that were doing well but that weren't in the Fortune 500. But they had tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars to spend on advertising every year. In fact, I was in charge of writing estimates for clients, and often just the planning portion of the process was in the tens of thousands of dollars. That's not including money spent purchasing magazine ads, billboard space and radio airtime.

You got that? (Don't worry; it will all make sense shortly.)

Now, let's talk about how advertising cost is calculated. Usually, media is evaluated in terms of cost per thousand. For example, if a magazine ad costs $8,890 for a full page in four-color and reaches 83,000 people (numbers taken from Sew News Magazines 2014 Media Kit), it has a cost per thousand (or CPM) of about $107. Do the math - $8,890 divided by 83 thousands is $107.10.

Typically, television advertising has a high overall cost but a low CPM since it has the tendency to reach more people per dollar spent. Newspaper advertising, on the other hand, has both a low overall cost AND a low CPM since it's relatively inexpensive and reaches a lot of people (well, it did in 2007...now, not so much).

Now, let's get to the topic at hand: sponsored blog posts. I recently joined the blogger network of a media company (that shall remain unnamed since they seem like a good company and such) that hooks up bloggers with brands who are hoping to pay for reviews of their products. The idea is that the blogger pitches the company with a creative idea - a story if you will - that they will sort of create, photograph and write about on their blogs. The hope is that their loyal followers will become interested in the brand and purchase the product in the post.

In the case where a company contacts a blogger directly, the product is usually related to the blogger's usual content - say, sewing blogger reviews fabric/iron/scissors/dress form/etc. But in the case of the media companies hooking up bloggers with brands, I usually see more general-interest products like popsicles or markers or...I dunno...air freshener spray.

For example, a granola bar company might work with the media group to find bloggers to create a mini-campaign for their product. The blogger submits her pitch to the media company, and if selected, she gets to work on the post. She is to purchase her own box of granola bars, stage the use of said granola bars in a creative way, photograph the use and then blog about it. Perhaps she writes a story about how her kids have swim practice every Thursday and are just STARVING at the end, and the granola bars save the day. Not very creative, I know, but you get my drift.

And how much does the blogger get paid for this? From what I've seen, it's typically about $150-$200 per post. Using the same CPM calculation as before, if her post gets 2,000 views (and that's REALLY conservative for most bigger bloggers), that's a CPM of $100 at the upper end ($200 divided by 2 thousands = $100). (The brand also has to pay the media company that made the blogger/brand connection, but I'm simplifying this process a little for brevity.)

Hmmm...so that's roughly the same CPM as a magazine ad, right? But wait...these companies are asking bloggers to be the creative director, photographer, graphic designer AND copywriter for these mini campaigns. Instead of just sending over camera-ready art (that's the ad term for ads that are ready to be inserted into the magazine, usually in PDF format), these bloggers must create the whole campaign and execute on it.

Bloggers spend hours and hours putting together these ideas and creating the content for these posts - and that's not even considering the YEARS of work they've done to build up their hundreds of thousands of pageviews per month (for the bigger bloggers). Think about all the tutorials, free patterns, linky parties, giveaways and other free content they've created over YEARS to build up an audience for these multi-national, Fortune 500 conglomerates to pay them a measly $150 to advertise their product. Yet bloggers doing the job of all those people in ad agencies that make respectable full-time salaries doing basically the same job. (See above.)

It's highway robbery, y'all! And it seriously needs to change!

But you know what? If big companies can get away with it, they will. And no, I'm not blaming the media companies that hook up bloggers with brands. They are a necessary (and appreciated) part of the equation. Change starts with bloggers.

Now, I know what some of you are going to say: "But I'd kill to make $150 or $200 every month or two off my blog!" Well, I'm guessing that if that's your attitude, you probably aren't a big blogger anyway, and you probably aren't getting selected for these types of campaigns. That's just a fact. But even if you ARE a smaller blogger and are getting picked for these campaigns, YOU SHOULD BE DEMANDING MORE.

Sure, there are times when I/you are probably happy to write a review for free - you know, when you just love your iron and are happy to blog about how awesome it is even though you aren't getting paid for it and even bought the iron with your own hard-earned dollar. But that's different - that's just you creating content. What I'm talking about is companies who actively seek out bloggers with which to "partner" and want you to deviate from your normal editorial content to write a post about them/their product. I can usually spot these posts from a mile away, and honestly, they usually seem a bit contrived (but hey, that's just me, and that's not the point of this post). You get my drift.

And there are other times when blogging for free makes sense in terms of building up credibility or working toward making OTHER, more lucrative partnerships. An example would be writing for a much larger blog or company that's related to your own content (sewing machine companies, bigger sewing blogs, etc.).

Or hey, maybe you are just a hobby blogger who could care less about making money from your blog. But if that's the case, I'm guessing you aren't getting offers for these kinds of deals. And if you are...please, for the rest of us who ARE trying to profit from our content, PLEASE help us to set the compensation bar a little higher so everyone benefits. (And you can always use more fabric money, right?!)

But in the case of huge companies capitalizing on bloggers' years of hard work and desire to make any money possible to help support their families, I am disgusted. (And you should be, too!)

So please, bloggers: Stop apologizing for wanting to make money off your YEARS of hard work. (I saw this over and over at SNAP Conference last year.) Stop feeling guilty for contributing to the family budget. And start asking for what you're worth. Don't accept a measly $150 (or even free product?!) to promote a brand that's completely or only tangentially related to your blog. Demand that these companies pay for the services rendered, and learn to value yourself for all you have to offer. (Or just figure out a better, more authentic way to make money from your talents!)

These companies know how much you're worth...so why don't you?